据估计 自1880年以来,全球累积生产了10亿吨铝。其中,有3/4的铝仍处于应用阶段。 在这部分铝中,建筑业大约占35%,电力电缆和机械占30%,运输业占30%。目前,仍处于应用阶段,但可回收的铝数量相当于目前原生铝年产量的17倍。

在全球范围内,针对一些重要的地区,我们收集到的有关铝回收量和回收率的数据是有局限的。

考虑到这一点,对收集的数据进行了补充处理。通过建立全球物质流分析模型,追溯了1888年迄今铝的流向,包括完整的产业链,同时建筑业的铝流向数据延续至2030年。在调查中,考虑了8个核心领域,即铝土矿开采;氧化铝精炼;铝和铝锭生产;加工(压延、挤压和铸造)、终端产品制造(生产和组装);使用以及再生。

铝的可再生性意味着全球有越来越多的铝进入贮备阶段,如同一个资源银行,随着时间的流失,蕴含在应用产品中的能源对应的实际用途和价值得到了更为广泛的体现。

在1980年,从旧废料中获取的铝数量为100万吨,至2016年,达到1700万吨。自上世纪80年代,处理运输行业的报废产品,成为再生铝的重要来源。一般情况下,铝建筑产品的寿命为几十年,因此,直到本世纪初,才能从30年前建成的建筑产品中回收报废的铝。

目前,从报废产品中回收铝的数量在不同领域有所不同,其中,运输业占总回收量的40%, 包装业占20%,工程和电缆占30%。由于建筑业铝产品的寿命较长,从该行业回收的铝仅占总量的10%。

2017年2月,IAI推出了一个新网络工具,实现了铝价值链从铝土矿到废料的可视化,其中还包括了区域间的贸易流动。 IAI的物质流可视化工具(见左侧链接)允许用户操纵一个动态的Sankey图,显示1962年至今,九个地区铝土矿,氧化铝,铝锭(原铝和回收铝),半成品,成品和废料的生产,消费和交易。

可视化工具显示:

  • •2004年,全世界有1500万吨废铝。 2014年,废铝可用量已经增加到2600万吨。
  • •北美地区长期以来是全球最大的废铝产生国,这一位置在2014年中国取代,中国当年的废铝产量达650万吨。
  • •2015年,九个地区之间的贸易包括2000万吨铝土矿,铝成品(1900万吨),铝锭(1200万吨),半成品(500万吨)和废铝(400万吨))。

Of the estimated 900 million tonnes of aluminium produced since 1880, three quarters is still in productive use.  Around 35% is located in buildings, 30% in electrical cables and machinery and 30% within transport applications. Recycling the metal currently stored in use would equal up to 17 years’ worth of current annual primary aluminium production.

IAI's Global Mass Flow Visualisation Tool

There are some important regions of the world where there is limited data available on aluminium collection and recycling rates.

Because of this, data collection has been complemented by the development of a global mass flow model that traces the flow of aluminium from 1888 to the present along the complete value chain and allows for building scenarios for flows out to 2030. Eight major processes are investigated: bauxite mining, alumina refining, aluminium and aluminium ingot production, fabrication (rolling, extrusion and casting), manufacturing (production and assembly of finished products), use and recycling. 

The property of recyclability means that the world’s increasing stock in use of aluminium acts like a resource bank, over time delivering more and more practical use and value from the energy embodied in the metal at the time of its production. 

The amount of aluminium produced from old scrap has grown from one million tonnes in 1980 to 17 million tonnes in 2016. Since the 1980s the transport sector has been the most important resource for recycled aluminium from end-of-life products. As aluminium construction products often have lifetimes running into decades, scrap from building applications has only become available in the 2000s and only in the quantities put into such applications when the buildings were constructed, over 30 years ago. 

Today recycled aluminium produced from old scrap originates 40% from transport, 20% from packaging, 30% from engineering and cables and only 10% from building applications, due to their long life times.

In February 2017, the IAI launched a new web-based tool to visualise the aluminium value chain, from bauxite to scrap, including inter-regional trade flows. The IAI’s mass flow visualisation (see link to the left) allows users to manipulate a dynamic Sankey diagram showing the production, consumption and trade of bauxite, alumina, ingots (primary and recycled), semis, final products and scrap across nine regions and over the period 1962 to today.

Among other things the visualisation shows that:

  • In 2004, 15 million tonnes of scrap were available worldwide.  In 2014 this scrap availability has increased to 26 million tonnes. 
  • North America, being historically the largest generator of scrap globally, was overtaken by China in 2014, which generated 6.5 million tonnes of scrap in that year. 
  • In 2015, 20 million tonnes aluminium contained in bauxite were traded between the nine regions, followed by aluminium contained in final products (19 million tonnes), ingots (12 million tonnes), semis (5 million tonnes) and scrap (4 million tonnes).